In context: Apple opened its Worldwide Builders Convention Monday with a keynote of what is coming in all of its working programs. The staff coated many new options like Dwell Textual content for macOS and iOS and Common Management for macOS and iPadOS. Nonetheless, the staff didn’t have time to cowl all of the adjustments in each system.

At the same time as WWDC 2021 begins to wind right down to Friday’s conclusion, we’re nonetheless studying issues from the assorted developer seminars that Apple has held all through the week and brushing by way of launch notes. A brand new characteristic for macOS Monterey that the crew did not cowl on Monday is the power to reset a Mac to manufacturing unit situation with out having to format the drive or reinstall macOS.

In System Preferences, customers will discover a new possibility labeled “Erase all contents and settings.” This feature deletes consumer profiles, information, and all apps. It’ll additionally revert all settings to manufacturing unit default. It eliminates the time-consuming technique of formatting the HDD/SDD and reinstalling macOS.

However how safe is it? Information by no means disappears from a drive except zeroed. So Monterey’s technique sometimes wouldn’t be most popular for these eager to promote their machine. Nonetheless, since Apple started utilizing the T2 safety chip (and now baked into the M1), information on a Mac drive is encrypted, and the method of erasing all consumer information destroys the keys as properly. Apple claims it’s solely safe with no chance for information restoration.

The characteristic doesn’t have the wow issue of, say, the Common Management demo, which is why Craig Federighi did not point out it within the keynote. Nonetheless, system admins who generally should reset a number of computer systems month-to-month for brand new staff are in all probability applauding the choice, which ought to considerably pace up their workflow.


Source link